Cal Basketball: No Surprise -- Bears Absent From All-Pac-12 Selections

All-Pac-12 picks, from left, Matisse Thybulle, Tres Tinkle and Jaylen Nowell.

Washington's Jaylen Nowell named Player of the Year; Hopkins repeats as Coach of the Year

Here's your, "Duh, no kidding!" news of the day: Cal was entirely bypassed on the All-Pac-12 men's basketball teams, announced Monday morning.

The Bears, winless in their first 15 conference games before peeling off three straight victories to close the regular season, were not represented among the 10-man All-Pac-12 first team, the five-man second team or the All-Freshman or All-Defensive teams.

Washington's Jaylen Nowell was named Pac-12 Player of the Year, Huskies coach Mike Hopkins was chosen as Coach of the Year for the second straight season, Huskies' guard Matisse Thybulle is the Defensive Player of the Year, Arizona State's Luguentz Dort was named Freshman of the Year, Colorado's Tyler Bey was picked as the Most Improved Player, Utah's Donnie Tillman is the Sixth Man of the Year, and Oregon State's Stephen Thompson Jr. was named the Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Pac-12 champion Washington and Colorado each had two players named to the first-team all-conference squad: Nowell and Thybulle of the Huskies and Bey and McKinley Wright IV of the Buffaloes got the nod in voting by the league's coaches.

Other first-team selections were Sedrick Barefield of Utah, Bennie Boatwright of USC, Zylan Cheatham of Arizona State, Robert Franks of Washington State, KZ Okpala of Stanford, and Tres Tinkle of Oregon State.

(See the full Pac-12 award announcement here)

The second team consisted of Luguentz Dort and Remy Martin of Arizona State, Jaylen Hands and Kris Wilkes of UCLA and Stephen Thompson Jr. of Oregon State.

Receiving at least three votes to earn honorable mention were Washington's Noah Dickerson, Oregon's Louis King, Stanford's Josh Sharma and USC's Nick Rakocevic.

Named to the five-player All-Freshman Team: Utah's Timmy Allen, UCLA's Moses Brown, Arizona State's Luguentz Dort, Washington State's CJ Elleby and Oregon's Louis King. The only honorable mention All-Freshman pick was Arizona's Brendon Williams.

Chosen to the All-Defensive Team: Zylan Cheatham and Luguentz Dort of ASU, Kylor Kelley of Oregon State, Matisse Thybulle of Washington and Kenny Wooten of Oregon. UCLAs Moses Brown and Colorado's McKinley Wright IV both were honorable mention on defense.