Cal Women's Basketball: Kristine Anigwe Named Pac-12 Defensive Player of Year

Kristine Anigwe leads the nation in reboundingPhoto by Rob Edwards - USA TODAY Sports

Oregon's Ionescu named conference player of the year

Cal senior Kristine Anigwe was named the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, the conference announced on Tuesday evening.

However, Anigwe was not named the conference's player of the year in the vote of the coaches. That award when to Oregon’s Sabrina Ionescu , who was voted the Pac-12 Player of the Year for the second straight year.

Utah’s Dre’Una Edwards won Pac-12 Freshman of the Year, Oregon State’s Aleah Goodman was named Pac-12 Sixth Player of the Year, and Oregon head coach Kelly Graves was selected as the Coach of the Year.

To no one’s surprise, Anigwe was named to the Pac-12 all-conference team for the fourth time when the team was announced on Tuesday.

Anigwe certainly had the statistics to warrant being named Pac-12 player of the year, but the award typically goes to a player for a team that finished first or second in the standings. Cal had a 9-9 conference record, tied for sixth. That’s why Sabrina Ionescu, who was the conference player of the year last year and plays for regular-season champion Oregon, had the inside track on the player of the year voting.

Anigwe leads the nation in rebounding at 16.4 boards per game, and averaged 1.7 blocks per game as well.

(Anigwe one of 10 semifinalists for national player of the year.)

The Pac-12 all-conference team is somewhat diluted because the conference names 15 players to its all-conference team, with no distinction for first-team or second-team selection.

Anigwe is the 15th player in league history to be named to the all-conference team four times and the second Golden Bear to achieve the feat (Devanei Hamption, 2006-09).

Coming off a 32-point, 30-rebound game in the final game of the regular season, she was also voted to the All-Defensive team for the second time.

Cal’s McKenzie Forbes received honorable mention for the conference all-freshman team.

ALL-PAC-12 (15 members)

Kristine Anigewe, Cal

Maite Cazorla, Oregon

DiJonai Carrington, Stanford

Ruthy Hebard, Oregon

Borislava Hristova, Washington State

Megan Huff, Utah

Kianna Ibis, Arizona State

Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon

Aari McDonald, Arizona

Michaela Onyenwere, UCLA

Mikayla Pivec, Oregon State

Satou Sabally, Oregon

Alanna Smith, Stanford

Kiana Williams, Stanford


Lindsey Corsaro, UCLA

Dre'Una Edwards, Utah

Dru Gylten, Utah

Lacie Hull, Stanford

Cate Reese, Arizona