Cal Baseball: Hosts for NCAA Regionals Named -- Where Will Cal Be Sent?

Cal second baseman Darren Baker (2) and first baseman Andrew Vaughn expect to be playing in the postseasonPhoto by Robert Edwards - KLC Fotos

Cal expected to get invited when 64-team postseason field is announced Monday

The host sites for the 16 NCAA baseball regional tournaments were announced Sunday.

Although Cal will not host one of the 16, four-team regional tournaments, the Bears are expected to be included in the postseason when the 64-team field is announced Monday morning. Cal won its final three regular-season games before being rained out on Saturday.

UCLA, Stanford and Oregon State are the Pac-12 teams that will host regionals.

Here are the 16 regional hosts, who were rated the 16 best teams during the regular season by the selection committee. The team’s record is in parentheses.

--- Athens, Georgia – Georgia (44-15)

--- Atlanta, Georgia – Georgia Tech (41-17)

--- Baton Rouge, Louisiana – LSU (37-24)

--- Chapel Hill, North Carolina – North Carolina (42-17)

--- Corvallis, Oregon – Oregon State (36-18-1)

--- Fayetteville, Arkansas – Arkansas (41-17)

--- Greenville, North Carolina – East Carolina (43-15)

--- Los Angeles, California – UCLA (47-8)

--- Louisville, Kentucky – Louisville (43-15)

--- Lubbock, Texas – Texas Tech (39-17)

--- Morgantown, West Virginia – West Virginia (37-20)

--- Nashville, Tennessee – Vanderbilt (49-10)

--- Oxford, Mississippi – Ole Miss (37-25)

--- Stanford, California – Stanford (41-11)

--- Starkville, Mississippi – Mississippi State. (46-13)

---Stillwater, Oklahoma – Oklahoma State (35-18)

By being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected to the 64-team championship field.

Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, May 31, to Monday, June 3 (if necessary).