Stats Inc.: Game 5 X 2 on Tap Today in National League Division Series

Sponsored by Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company


Ø The Cardinals knotted the series at two games apiece with a 5-4 walk-off victory in Game 4. The loss by the Braves was the sixth consecutive loss for the franchise in potential postseason round-clinching games.

Ø Yadier Molina became the second-oldest player in MLB postseason history with a walk-off to stave off elimination. The only older player to do so was Jackie Robinson in Game 6 of the 1956 World Series.

Ø The Cardinals are 15-6 all-time in winner-take-all games in the playoffs, the best record by any team in postseason history (min. 5 games played). The last time that the Braves played in a winner-take-all game was a 6-3 loss to the Cardinals in the 2012 NL Wild Card Game.

Ø Despite reaching base 11 times this postseason, Ronald Acuna Jr. has only scored once (scored on his own home run in Game 1). Acuna went 4-for-5 with a triple, a double and zero runs scored in Game 4; Acuna’s seven total bases are tied for the most in postseason history by a player who scored zero runs in the same game (also Vic Wertz in 1954 and Patsy Dougherty in 1903).

Ø Among the 774 players all-time with at least 50 career postseason plate appearances, Paul Goldschmidt ranks first in both slugging percentage (.813) and OPS (1.238). Goldschmidt’s six extra-base hits this postseason are tied for the most by any player in his first four postseason games with a team all-time.

Ø Jack Flaherty and Mike Foltynewicz matched up in Game 2 of this series, with the advantage going to Foltynewicz and the Braves in a 3-0 win. In that start, Foltynewicz (7.0 IP, 3 H, 0 R) became the first Braves pitcher to go at least seven-scoreless innings and allow three hits or fewer in a playoff start since Tom Glavine in Game 7 of the 1996 NLCS (15-0 win over the Cardinals).

Ø Flaherty (23 years, 359 days) will become the second-youngest Cardinal ever to start a winner-take-all game in the postseason. Joe Magrane (23 years, 115 days) received a no-decision in Game 7 of the 1987 World Series against the Twins, a game St. Louis lost, 4-2.


Ø The Nationals drew even in the series, winning 6-1, shutting the Dodgers out after the first inning. Washington’s bullpen followed Max Scherzer’s seven innings of one-run ball with two shutout innings after allowing 14 runs in 9.0 innings in the first three games of this series.

Ø Since the franchise moved to DC in 2005, the Nationals are 1-3 in winner-take-all games in the postseason – only the Reds (0-2), Indians (0-4) and Athletics (0-5) have a worse record among the 22 teams who have played at least two such games over this span.

Ø The Dodgers are 7-5 in winner-take-all games in the postseason all-time, trailing only the Cardinals (15-6) among the 19 teams who have played at least five such games over this span. One of these victories came against Washington, in a 4-3 win to close out the 2016 NLDS in a game that, like Game 4 of this series, saw Max Scherzer square off with Rich Hill.

Ø Trea Turner went 3-for-5 with a double and two runs scored in the Game 4 win, his second multi-hit game of the series. Since September 1, Turner has picked up at least one hit in 27 of 32 games and has scored 28 runs to go along with 20 extra-base hits.

Ø Justin Turner has a 1.094 OPS this postseason, and has picked up at least one hit in all four games while scoring in three of the four. Turner’s career .939 postseason OPS ranks third all-time among the 37 Dodgers with at least 75 career postseason plate appearances, trailing only Duke Snider (.945) and Steve Garvey (.942).

Ø Stephen Strasburg has a 0.64 ERA in five career postseason games, third lowest through five games in MLB history, bettered only by Hall of Famers Waite Hoyt from 1921-22 (0.26) and Christy Mathewson from 1905-11 (0.38) (min. 20 IP). He has a 2.45 ERA in 12 starts against the Dodgers across the regular season and postseason, the lowest mark by any active pitcher with at least 10 starts against the team.

Ø Walker Buehler allowed nine runs in 12.0 innings (6.75 ERA) over his first two career postseason starts, but has allowed just one run in 17.2 innings (0.51 ERA) in his three starts since. The last 16.2 of these have been scoreless innings – only three Dodgers have pieced together a longer streak in postseason play – Jerry Reuss (23.0 in 1981), Sandy Koufax (22.0 in 1965-66) and Orel Hershiser (21.1 in 1988).