Murray, Tagovailoa, Haskins named Heisman Trophy finalists

Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Kyler Murray (1) celebrates after being named the most outstanding player against the Texas Longhorns in the Big 12 Championship Game on Saturday.Photo: Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

Sports Xchange

Quarterbacks Kyler Murray (Oklahoma), Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama) and Dwayne Haskins (Ohio State) were named the finalists for the 84th Heisman Trophy.

The award for the most outstanding college football player will be presented Saturday (8 p.m. ET) in New York.

Tagovailoa and Murray will meet again at the Orange Bowl on Dec. 29 when the No. 1 Crimson Tide and fourth-seeded Sooners square off in a College Football Playoff semifinal contest.

Murray is bidding to give Oklahoma the first back-to-back Heisman Trophy-winning quarterbacks of any school in the history of the award. Cleveland Browns quarterback Baker Mayfield captured the honor last year.

While Murray will hope to be Oklahoma's seventh Heisman winner, his future is expected to take place on the diamond. Murray was selected with the ninth overall pick of the Oakland Athletics in Major League Baseball's draft last summer.

Murray threw for 4,053 yards and rushed for 892 more while accumulating a total of 51 touchdowns (40 passing, 11 rushing) this past season. He recorded 10 games with at least three touchdown passes in 2018.

Tagovailoa is attempting to become Alabama's first-ever Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback. Running backs Mark Ingram (2009) and Derrick Henry (2015) captured the award recently.

The Hawaiian has thrown for 3,353 yards with 37 touchdowns against four interceptions this season. He completed 67.7 percent of his passes and led the nation in yards per catch (16.9).

Haskins threw for 499 yards and five touchdowns as the Buckeyes defeated Northwestern in the Big Ten Championship Game on Saturday. He leads the country with a Big Ten-record 47 touchdowns and 4,580 yards.