Oregon agrees to home-and-home series with Michigan State

Ducks and Spartans reignite a series that will begin in 2029

Just days after announcing Oregon’s three-game series with Boise State, head coach Mario Cristobal had more big news to share.

The Ducks have agreed to a home-and-home series with Michigan State, beginning in 2029 and ending the following year. Oregon will travel to East Lansing to face the Spartans on September 8, 2029, and then welcome Michigan State to Autzen stadium on September 7, 2030.

As of now, this will be the expected seventh and eighth meetings between the programs, with all six previous meetings coming via home-and-home series. The teams have split the series 3-3 with each taking victories at home.

By far the most entertaining games of the series were the last two, coming in 2013 and 2014.

Oregon’s victory (46-27) in 2014 was the marquee matchup of its non-conference schedule and eventually propelled the Ducks to the inaugural College Football Playoffs national championship.

The game also gave Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota his first “Heisman” moment of the season. With the Ducks trailing in the third quarter, Mariota evaded a would-be sack on third down and almost tripped before flipping the ball to running back Royce Freeman for the first down. That sparked a 28-0 run that left the nation convinced the Ducks were legitimate national title contenders and paved the way for Mariota to win the Heisman.

In 2015, the Spartans exacted revenge with a 31-28 win in a game came down to the final moments.

With the addition of the Michigan State series, Oregon now has a non-conference game schedule in each season all the way through the 2030 season.

Oregon's Non-Conference Opponents:

2019:Auburn (AT&T Stadium), Nevada, Montana

2020: North Dakota State, Ohio State, Hawaii

2021: Fresno State, @ Ohio State, Stony Brook

2022: Eastern Washington, BYU

2023: Portland State, @ Texas Tech, Hawaii

2024:Texas Tech, Boise State, @ Hawaii

2025:@ Boise State

2026:Boise State

2027:@ Baylor


2029:@ Michigan State

2030:Michigan State