Oregon announces series with Boise State; set to begin in 2024

Ducks and Broncos will continue their rivalry with a three-game series

Despite all of the success Chip Kelly had when he was head coach at Oregon, his first game was a less than memorable one.

Kelly and the Ducks traveled to Idaho to face Boise State, kicking off the 2009 season. Oregon's offense was non-existent in the 19-8 loss, in which star running back LeGarrette Blount was seen punching Boise State linebacker Bryan Hout on national television.

Now, Oregon and Boise State will have a chance to renew that rivalry as both teams have signed and agreed to a three-game series, beginning in 2024 and ending in 2026. The first and third games will take place at Autzen Stadium in Eugene while the second game will be at Albertson's Stadium in Boise, Idado.

Routinely a top-25 team over the past decade, Boise State will prove as an invaluable preseason opponent, something looked favorably upon by the College Football Playoff selection committee.

With the Broncos signed on, the Ducks have at least one opponent secured for their preseason games through the 2028 season. As of now, Oregon will face either a team from a Power-5 conference or Boise State in nine of the next 10 seasons.

The Ducks have never beaten the Broncos before, losing both games in the previous home-and-home series back in 2008 and 2009. Oregon also lost to Boise State last year, 38-28, in the Las Vegas Bowl in Mario Cristobal's first game as head coach.

Oregon's Non-Conference Opponents:

2019:Auburn (AT&T Stadium), Nevada, Montana

2020: North Dakota State, Ohio State, Hawaii

2021: Fresno State, @ Ohio State, Stony Brook

2022: Eastern Washington, BYU

2023: Portland State, @ Texas Tech, Hawaii

2024:Texas Tech, Boise State, @ Hawaii

2025:@ Boise State

2026:Boise State

2027:@ Baylor