Oregon Football to open the 2022 season against Georgia in Atlanta

Ducks will face Bulldogs in Chick-fil-A kickoff season opener

Oregon announced today that its agreed to kick off the 2022 season against Georgia in the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game.

The game will take place on September 3 and be played at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta. Game time is still to be determined.

Its a great honor for our program to open the 2022 season in the Chick-fil-A Kickoff game and to play a great program, like Georgia, Oregon head coach Mario Cristobal said in a press release. As we continue to grow this program we want to challenge ourselves against the best competition. Im also extremely excited for our fans to make the trip to Mercedes-Benz Stadium and put their passion for the Ducks on full display.

The Ducks announcement continues their push to fill their preseason with tougher games. Oregon has steadily filled out its non-conference schedule for the future, announcing games with Michigan State and Boise State over the past two weeks.

This game will be the third time Oregon has begun a season at a neutral location, with all opponents hailing from the SEC. The Ducks lost to LSU in 2011, one year after playing in the national championship. Oregon will face off with Auburn next year in Dallas, Texas before taking on the Bulldogs three years later.

We are excited at the opportunity to play a high-quality opponent such as Georgia as well as to open the season in an incredible venue in Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Oregon athletic director Rob Mullens said in a press release. This invitation is reflective of the brand and reputation of the Oregon football program, and we look forward to the chance for our student-athletes to participate in this prestigious event to open the 2022 season.

Oregon's Non-Conference Opponents:

2019:Auburn (AT&T Stadium), Nevada, Montana

2020: North Dakota State, Ohio State, Hawaii

2021: Fresno State, @ Ohio State, Stony Brook

2022:Georgia (Mercedes-Benz Stadium), Eastern Washington, BYU

2023: Portland State, @ Texas Tech, Hawaii

2024:Texas Tech, Boise State, @ Hawaii

2025:@ Boise State

2026:Boise State

2027:@ Baylor


2029:@ Michigan State

2030:Michigan State