No One Close to the 1950s Browns

Talk of Fame Network

The Cleveland Browns are one of two established NFL franchises that has never been to a Super Bowl.

Still, no franchise has a greater championship history, according to this week’s Talk of Fame Network poll. Voters named the 1950s Browns as the greatest dynasty in NFL history by a wide margin. Cleveland received almost 61 percent of the vote with the 1960s Packers a distant second at almost 25 percent of the vote.

The 1990s Cowboys (5 percent), 1970s Steelers (4.4) percent, 2000s Patriots (3.7 percent) and 1980s 49ers (1.3 percent) all brought up the rear.

Teams quarterbacked by Bart Starr, Troy Aikman, Terry Bradshaw, Tom Brady and Joe Montana were passed over by voters for a team quarterbacked by Otto Graham.

“How can you argue with a team that makes it to 10 straight championship games -- winning seven of them?” said Talk of Fame Network co-host Clark Judge. “This one's an easy call. The better question is: Who's second to the Browns? It's not just that nobody will have success like this again; it's that nobody will be remotely close.”

The first four championships (1946-49) came in the now defunct All-American Conference. But Talk of Fame Network co-host Ron Borges focused instead on the championships at the back end of the streak.

“That (streak) includes three in six years in the NFL,” Borges said, “so don't give me that AAFC business. As for more teams in the playoffs today, so what? You win the championship, or you don't. And the Browns did it more than anyone in any decade.”

Well, not exactly. The Browns won four AAFC titles in the 1940s and three NFL titles in the 1950s.

Talk of Fame Network co-host Rick Gosselin cast his vote for the 1960s Packers, who won five NFL titles in a decade.

“Eleven Hall-of-Fame players and a Hall-of-Fame coach,” Gosselin said. “No one has ever amassed that much talent on one roster at one time. The 1960s Packers won five NFL titles in a span of seven years, including the first two Super Bowls.”

The Packers lost the 1960 NFL title game, then won championships in 1961, 1962, 1965, 1966 and 1967. The Packers played the 1963 season without their Hall-of-Fame running back Paul Hornung, who was suspended for the year by the NFL for gambling, but still finished 11-2-1.


1950s Browns coach Paul Brown, courtesy of the Cincinnati Bengals