Cowboys Logan Wilson Selected for Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List

Sponsored by Town & Country Supermarket Liquors

From the desk of Tim Harkins

Wyoming Athletic Department

Laramie -- Wyoming senior linebaker Logan Wilson is among 80 players who have been placed on the 2019 Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List. The award has been presented to the Defensive Player of the Year at the college level since 1995.

Bednarik is a former standout at Penn and with the NFL Philadelphia Eagles, who was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in `969, and the NFL Hall of Fame in 1967.

Wilson will enter his senior season with 316 career tackles, which ranks 2nd among active returning Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS). He concluded his junior season ranked No. 5 among active FBS players in career defensive TDs scored (3), No. 13 among active FBS players in career tackles per game (8.10) and No. 10 among active FBS players in career solo tackles per Game (4.90).

Wilson’s 316 career tackles ranks No. 13 on the Wyoming career tackle list entering his senior season. He has started every game of this Wyoming career, making 39 consecutive starts. Wilson was named a team captain as both a sophomore and junior. Team captains for the 2019 season will be named during fall practice, he could join former teammate Marcus Epps as the only three-time team captains in the modern era of Cowboy Football.

In 2018, Wilson was the leading tackler on a Cowboy defense that ranked No. 19 in the nation in total defense, No. 25 in the in rushing defense and No. 28 in scoring defense. In addition to leading the team in tackles (103), he led the team in tackles for loss (11.0 for 30 yards) and tied for the team lead in interceptions (2 for 21 yards). Wilson was named Honorable Mention All-Mountain West in 2018. Among his top games of the season were: 12 tackles vs. Washington State and Colorado State; 11 tackles against Boise State, Hawai’i and Utah State; and 10 tackles versus San Jose State. His two interceptions came against Utah State and Air Force.

He earned Second Team All-Mountain West honors in 2017, and was the Mountain West Freshman of the Year in 2016. Wilson has earned Academic All-Mountain West honors three consecutive years.

The Bednarik Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935.